The God Who Answers By Fire

God's Wrath

Claricha brings up a point that has been on my heart for a while. Much of Christianity is focused on the concept that our Father is all gentle, loving, and without anger. This couldn’t be further from the truth.

It’s like parenting as humans, though much more so. We’ve all seen those parents who never raise their voice, never discipline their children, and give their kids everything they want. We also see the results. A harsh hand of discipline is required to raise children because they do not know right from wrong the way that adults do. They do not know all of the things that can hurt them, so a firm rebuke is often required.

I rarely had to spank or ground my children. I was blessed with exceptionally obedient kids, but when discipline was required, I never hesitated to give it to them.

Our Father is kind and gentle, but He is firm when He needs to be for our sakes. He is infinitely forgiving, but He also knows when punishment is required for our actions. We cannot forget that our Father has destroyed entire cities, had His people destroy unholy nations, and that Yeshua will lead us into battle against the forces of evil at the end times.

Love is not just about being gentle. Wrath is often required to put us back on the right path.

Claricha Explains It All

About a month ago, the worship teams of both my churches learned a song by Eddie James to sing at a conference. The title of the song is “I’m Sending the Fire”. It’s based on the scripture in 1 Kings 18 where Elijah got fed up with all the idol worship. He said, “Then call on the name of your god, and I will call on the name of the LORD. The god who answers by setting fire to the wood is the true God!” And all the people agreed. (‭1 Kings‬ ‭18‬:‭24‬ NLT)

Since learning it, I’ve been meditating on the passage. Just focusing on how our God responds to us in powerful ways. So much so that a few weeks after the conference I had a dream and at the end of the dream I heard Numbers 16. Now hear me out, I love the Lord. I read…

View original post 256 more words

Leave a Reply

